Sheer Innocence…

Posted: September 24, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

The conversation went like this (and I couldn’t make something like this up if I tried, I love it):

TQ: Are you coming to our iftar Jamilah?

JM: Ummmm, let me ask my Ummie. She says what are you all cooking?

TQ: We’re having soul food.

JM: What’s soul food, TQ? Ummie she said som kind of soul food.

TQ: You know black people food, african american people food?

JM: Hmmmm, let me look it up on Wikipedia.

(after actually looking soul food up on wikipedia)

JM: Wow, that sounds great, boy thats alot of food. We’ll be partying if we have all of that food…. Minus the prok of course, I’m sure we won’t be having that.

I love muslim teenagers (sometimes).

Comments
  1. Halal_Wife4him says:

    As Salaamu Alaykum

    Now that was funny. I had an Iftar at my home also and cooked soul food. Many of my Arab and Pakistani friends had never tried such things as cornbread, black eye peas or real baked mac and cheese. It was wonderful watching their faces as they tried something new.

Leave a Reply

