Me on The Texas Polygamy Raids…

Posted: May 22, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

This is from a comment I made concerning a blog post I read on this issue…

“This is not a muslim vs. christian issue. And the slippery slope is very real. The government is not going to get into semantics when setting legal precedent in the case of polygyny. It is going to blanket and generalise in every area that it can. For example, in an effort to minimize the rights of families to homeschool their children, the law of educational neglect was penned.

To me and anyone else seeing this law, it should cover people who are not providing an equivalent education to their children. Well I saw with my own eyes this law being used in a majority african american city in Georgia against parents who were guilty of mere unexcused absences. Not only did these parents have to go to court but they were also faced with being charged with a felony (and we all know what a felony does to your record) and possible jail time.

I strongly feel that this episode in our (in)justice system is really to set legal precedence to prosecute the muslims. I wonder what new legal statutes were created from this?”

With that said I can probably guess that the law will be stretched to include a new definition of polygamy (meaning common law marriages included) young marriage and religious oppression as a reason to take custody of peoples children. It saddens me that our community is still ignorant to the means in which the american government consistently infiltrates and undermines our faith as we sit idly by and do nothing.

Comments
  1. Safiyyah says:

    Salaams Sis:

    I posted something similar to what you wrote on my own blog and practically got slaughtered in the comments.

    I don’t approve of abuse in any form; I just don’t trust how Texas handled this issue.

    And today, the court ruled that Texas had NO legal basis to remove all of those kids. Insha Allah they will all go home and the real abusers can be dealt with.

  2. Yeah I read about that. My real concern is the damage that was done to the kids after they were taken. I read earlier that genetic testing and psychological studies were done on these children. It is such an insane violation that it astounds me. How can the government ever make amends to the trauma and nightmare of it all?

  3. peacefulmuslimah says:

    I just want to address one issue here: the illegality of polygyny in the US. Since it is ILLEGAL in the US to practice polygyny, shouldn’t Muslims and Mormons lobby for exceptions to the laws rather than outright break it? I don’t think you can have any moral hiugh ground when you are breaking the law. Therein lies the fundamental reason why I support the government stepping into this whole ugly mess.

    Salaam Alaikum,
    PM

    PS: Safiyyah, I have seen you say several times that you felt you were “slaughtered” in the comments on your post, but I just wanted to say that I didn’t read it that way at all. I just read it as some differences of opinions and I think both sides laid out good arguments. Hope that discussion didn’t bother you too much.

  4. tabarakallah says:

    I guess you could look at it like that. And when they ban hijab and order complete separation f religion from state by not allowing religious freedoms and observances in such places as schools, do we continue to listen to them then as well? Allah is the law maker and we follow his laws to the best of our ability. Making haram what Allah has permitted is called shirk. I don’t need to lobby mankind to give me something the creator has already given. Maybe someone needs to lobby to make a law against fornication and adultery. Or make a Law against crackheads having babies. But I don’t see the state removing these peoples children.

  5. peacefulmuslimah says:

    Sister,

    Everyone at some point in their life will have to abide by authority they may not believe in. I think when you have a good reason for why a law should be changed you use LEGAL means to change it. If you don’t want to get involved in the process and want all the laws to reflect what you think are God’s laws then consider moving some place where you will abide by the law.

    I live in Qatar and don’t break the laws here. If I felt they needed to be changed then I would use legal means to address that change. Or I would leave.

    It’s really quite simple.

  6. peacefulmuslimah says:

    Oh and one more thing:

    Allah did not write the US Constitution and make the laws there. Thus, this response “you can’t make haraam what Allah made halal” is just useless rhetoric.

    If you wnat to live some place where you think His laws are governing then move to the place that you feel reflects that (ie., Saudi, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Yemen, etc.)

  7. tabarakallah says:

    Seeing as how this whole earth belongs to Allah, I can live and practice Islam wherever I please. Just as you choose to live in Qatar, I choose, for the time being to live where I live until I decide otherwise. On the other hand if you and any of your colleagues would like to fund my trip, I would be more than happy to go and live in a more islamic environment. Until then, I will practice Islam and live under the Law of Allah here.

    Allahu Yahdiki

  8. tabarakallah says:

    And please keep posting comments Peaceful, I need more topics to blog about.

  9. peacefulmuslimah says:

    Sister,

    I had to work very hard and at great cost to get where I have and have the opportunity to move here to live and work. No one started a fund to pay my way here. I got here through considerable years of education and struggle. Insha’Allah if you work hard, too, the opportunity will make itself available to you. If you are searching for a more Islamic environment, you might be surprised at what find.

    I’m sorry if you think I was telling you that you couldn’t practice Islam wherever you like. I’m a big advocate of using the rights granted us by our government to work within the system to change it — as opposed to just choossing the laws I choose to abide by, while breaking the rest.

    I don’t understand what you mean about my comments and your need for topics to blog about. Maybe you could explain….

    Salaam Alaikum,
    PM

  10. tabarakallah says:

    “I’m a big advocate of using the rights granted us by our government to work within the system to change it…”

    Wow isn’t that generous of them…?

Leave a Reply

