Dear Husband…

Posted: May 13, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Today I looked at you as if I was seeing you for the first time. It’s funny how a person can still do that after 11 years, how things can still become and remain new. I look back on our lives, the one we have shared so far, the one Allah has allowed us to make together, and I am pleased.

People say, how can you feel love for someone you don’t know? How can arranged marriage work? Up to this very moment I don’t know. All I can say is that Allah places love between two hearts. Our marriage was a leap of faith, not knowing each other and relying upon Allah to make it right.  Our first night together was amazing. It amazes me still today. I felt with you like I had known you forever, and like you were closer to me than if we had been born from the same womb.

I remember looking at you every 5 or 10 minutes over dinner or walking through the park (you remember… the one with the fountain) and saying, “Is it just me? Or do you feel the same?” Had I been born muslim and had no life in the dunya, I could chalk it up to first time love. But I was a divorcee with two kids (and boyfriends in Jahiliyyah that I dare not discuss). I had never in my life felt this way before.

Many people have a love child. But all of our children were born out of love. We wanted each of them, each one different and special to our hearts. I thank Allah for the experience of growing up with you, of having all of the “firsts” we had together.

And just to let you know, if you ever wonder… I will love you forever, Insha’allah. Even if our marriage doesn’t last, or if Allah takes us, one from the other. He built a special place for you in my heart. I pray that our eternity will be as sweet.

Ever Your Love,

Ummie

Comments
  1. peacefulmuslimah says:

    Maash’Allah, very nice post, sister.

    Salaam Alaikum,
    PM

  2. KiKi says:

    Awwwwwwwwwww, mashallah. I teared up reading this.

  3. Safiyyah says:

    Salaams Sister:

    Alhamdulillah, that is a nice post. Especially in this day and age of blogging when we hear about so many married couples being unhappy.

    I feel similar to you about my husband, Masha Allah.

  4. As salaamu alaikum,

    I am one of those that has blogged about my husband being a @#$. He CAN be at times,but I read this post and it was like I had written this about him,because overall this is how I feel about him. It was a nice post.

  5. Subhan’Allah what a beautiful post. I think I will go and look at my hubby with these fresh eyes you’ve given me. SOmedays I do see him like this and others not but I hope in the future more will be days like this. Masha’Allah

  6. Itto says:

    Masha’allah what a beautiful love letter to your man!
    May Allah bless you both with a long life full of love, together!

Leave a Reply

